Quarter Life Crisis

The world according to Sven-S. Porst

« Hard Drive breakageMainRīga »

New hard drive vs Time Machine

982 words on

I exchanged the hard drive in my (2008 white) MacBook. On the hardware side, that is a very quick thing to do. The MacBook is well designed for these kinds of exchanges: A coin removes the battery, three Philips screws need to be unscrewed to remove the cover of the RAM and hard drive, with the nice touch that the screws are actually part of the cover and cannot fall out and get lost. Which means that 20 seconds after starting you have removed the hard drive which is pulled out using a little plastic tab.

Next comes the hardest step: Removing the hard drive from the tray holding it inside the MacBook. You can see Apple’s only poor design decision here as they – once more – chose Torx (T8) screws for that. Meaning that you will be cursing at this step if you don’t have the matching screwdriver. In fact, the screws on my hard drive sled are already quite blank and shiny as I loosened and fixed them a number of times using pliers already (doable but rather annoying). As my brother gave me a nice T8 screwdriver last christmas, I could actually enjoy this step this time around and finished it in a few seconds. Reversing all the steps leaves you with a new hard drive in your MacBook.

The really time consuming part of the hard drive exchange is the software side, though. Copying hundreds of gigabytes of data takes a long time and will use a whole day or night. As I didn’t want to waste even more time by doing a fresh install and going through the lengthy migration progress and the software reinstallation it necessitates, I cloned the old drive to the new one and took it from there. Everything worked fine, just Time Machine insisted on re-adding the complete drive to my backup – which would have exceeded the backup drive’s capacity. Luckily I messed around with Time Machine before and the resulting knowledge along with some googling and adapting techniques for Mac OS X.6 let me fix the issue.

I think it’s fair to say that this is an ‘issue’ rather than a problem as it is caused by Time Machine internally identifying volumes by their unique identifier, rather than by their name which is the right thing to do. It just comes to bite you when you clone a drive. The new volume has a new identifier, hence Time Machine fails to recognise it as the same volume as the one you had before. You can see the volume’s identifier by selecting it in Disk Utility and using the Get Info command:

The volume's UUID in Disk Utility's Info window

Terminal lovers can also use the diskutil command to achieve the same, e.g. for the startup volume (or any other volume by using its path instead of /:

ssp% diskutil info / | grep UUID
   Volume UUID:              F9E4B5DA-BACC-3BEB-B4A9-D59041E58A78

Now that we know the identifier of the new startup volume, the next step is to let Time Machine know about it. Time Machine’s usual way of storing technical information is using extended attributes. That is also the case for the identifier which is stored in the com.apple.backupd.SnapshotVolumeUUID extended attribute of each volume’s folder inside the backup’s folder hierarchy. It can be read using the xattr command. I am assuming that your backup volume is mounted at /Volumes/Backup, that the machine you are backing up is called ‘Machine’ and the volume you want to change is named ‘Volume’ in what follows. You need to adapt that to the paths on your machine when using the command there.

ssp% xattr -p -l com.apple.backupd.SnapshotVolumeUUID /Volumes/Backup/Backups.backupdb/Machine/Latest/Volume/
com.apple.backupd.SnapshotVolumeUUID:
00000000  34 30 44 37 43 46 37 32 2D 42 33 39 35 2D 33 46  |40D7CF72-B395-3F|
00000010  43 42 2D 38 34 32 31 2D 35 46 45 42 45 44 43 34  |CB-8421-5FEBEDC4|
00000020  34 39 35 36 00                                   |4956.|
00000025

As Time Machine protects its backup volumes rather well from the user messing with therm and there seems to be no way to turn that off in the graphical interface, the next step is to remove ‘access permissions’ from the backup volume (which in my case is on a disk image as I prefer my backups encrypted). This can be done using the diskutil command with administrator rights:

sudo diskutil disableOwnership /Volumes/Backup

It seems like a good idea to not mess with the volume in any unnecessary way in this situation and just do what we came for: set the extended attribute to the identifier of the new volume.

sudo xattr -w com.apple.backupd.SnapshotVolumeUUID F9E4B5DA-BACC-3BEB-B4A9-D59041E58A78 /Volumes/Backup/Backups.backupdb/Machine/Latest/Volume/

If you observe things closely, you’ll see that the original extended attribute ended in a trailing NULL-character like a C-string does, while the newly set extended attribute does not. This difference doesn’t seem to matter for anything but the display by the xattr command. As it’s a bit tricky to actually get the NULL-character into the extended attribute, I just stuck with the easy way.

Finally ‘lock’ the volume again by re-enabling access permissions:

sudo diskutil enableOwnership /Volumes/Backup

Actually it seems that Time Machine will automatically restore access permissions for you the next time it is running if you forget this step. Still, doing it seems like a good idea.

And that is it. Backups from the cloned new hard drive in my MacBook seamlessly continued the previous series of backups just like I wanted it to. The only difference is in the extended attributes (both their value and, for technical reasons, their format) – before and after:

ssp% xattr -p -l com.apple.backupd.SnapshotVolumeUUID /Volumes/Backup/Backups.backupdb/Machine/2010-07-14-094357/Volume/ /Volumes/Backup/Backups.backupdb/Machine/2010-07-14-104415/Volume/
/Volumes/Backup/Backups.backupdb/Machine/2010-07-14-094357/Volume/: com.apple.backupd.SnapshotVolumeUUID:
00000000  34 30 44 37 43 46 37 32 2D 42 33 39 35 2D 33 46  |40D7CF72-B395-3F|
00000010  43 42 2D 38 34 32 31 2D 35 46 45 42 45 44 43 34  |CB-8421-5FEBEDC4|
00000020  34 39 35 36 00                                   |4956.|
00000025
/Volumes/Backup/Backups.backupdb/Machine/2010-07-14-104415/Volume/: com.apple.backupd.SnapshotVolumeUUID: F9E4B5DA-BACC-3BEB-B4A9-D59041E58A78

[Buy at amazon .com, .uk, .de]

July 28, 2010, 20:11

Tagged as backup, macbook, time machine.

Comments

Comment by Stefan: User icon

I like the cycling moose :)

July 29, 2010, 12:12

Comment by ssp: User icon

@Stefan:
Elk-smiley: O:€

July 29, 2010, 12:22

Comment by Carl: User icon

This would have come in handy for me last March. Re-backing up the backup (and losing the original data) was a pain.

July 29, 2010, 13:43

Comment by Ethan: User icon

Thanks for this article. I’ve seen quite a bit on this but from your posted method, I confirmed this works without blowing the machine up and fine. Given how it is just a HFS+ xattr mod, I am surprised this was not “documented” earlier

October 24, 2010, 14:30

Comment by Robert: User icon

Thanks for the tip. You just saved me a world of pain following my replacement of my MacBook drive! I cloned it, installed it, and everything worked great EXCEPT for Time Machine.

May 11, 2011, 8:02

Comment by Dave Abrahams: User icon

This is awesome! One little detail, though: it seems like I want to repeat this process for all the backups in the bundle, not just the latest. Otherwise, when I go to view my backup history I can only see the one that’s been xattr’d. A little shell script should handle this easily enough, and when my wife’s backup completes, I’m going to try it :-)

October 26, 2011, 19:46

Comment by ssp: User icon

@Dave Abrahams: Just outlining the general principle here, of course try to adapt it as you need to.

In case you are using X.7, be sure to try out the tmutil command line tool, using its inheritbackup option. That will most likely provide a better solution for this problem.

October 27, 2011, 9:43

Comment by Dave Abrahams: User icon

I’d have headed straight for tmutil if I was on Lion. Outlining the general principle is unfortunately not enough if you’re trying to be helpful. If, like me, you don’t have the foresight to do it for all backups the first time around, what happens is that the older backups become inaccessible after the first attempted backup, and the OS doesn’t seem to reclaim the space they used. Since my backup disk was full, I had to throw away the sparse bundle. The ultimate effect was losing all the old backups.

Cheers, Dave

October 29, 2011, 3:25

Add your comment

« Hard Drive breakageMainRīga »

Comments on

Photos

Categories

Me

This page

Out & About

pinboard Links

♪♬♪

Received data seems to be invalid. The wanted file does probably not exist or the guys at last.fm changed something.

People

Ego-Linking